Louisiana Community Property Law

Louisiana is one of nine community property states in the United States. Community property states divide marital property equally between the spouses in a divorce. Community property is property acquired during the marriage. Community debts are debts acquired during the marriage. Under Louisiana law, the division of community property takes place after the divorce. The suit to partition the community property is a separate suit after the divorce.